Matthew Peterson Gets Breath Test Successfully Thrown Out

The Law Office of Matthew Peterson successfully got a breath test suppressed, or thrown out, in Chelsea District Court. Our client blew over the legal limit, but the district attorney cannot introduce this evidence during the trial. To introduce the results of a breath test in Massachusetts, the police have to comply with numerous regulations. […]

What is a 24D Disposition for an OUI in Massachusetts?

In Massachusetts, if you are charged with a first-time OUI or in some cases of second-time OUI, you could be eligible for a lesser sentence according to Mass. G.L. c. 90 §24D.  This is referred to as a “24D Disposition.”  A second-time OUI generally requires 60 days of jail time, but a 24D disposition allows […]

What Happens if I Refuse a Breath Test in Massachusetts?

If you refuse a breath test in Massachusetts, it can help in your OUI defense, but it also has its own consequences. Your driver’s license will be suspended anywhere from 180 days up to life, depending on your age and history. See below for a chart showing the length of suspension by age and number […]

What is the Punishment for OUI in Massachusetts?

In Massachusetts, the punishment for an OUI can be serious.  It can mean jail time, losing your driver’s license, and losing a lot of money. It’s critical to hire a Massachusetts OUI attorney who will fight for you. If you are under 21 when the offense occurred, there are different penalties and laws on OUI […]

What Are Field Sobriety Tests for OUI in Massachusetts?

A If you’re pulled over for OUI in Massachusetts, you may be asked to perform field sobriety tests and other tests. These include horizontal gaze nystagmus (HGN), walk-and-turn, one-leg stand, portable breath test, and post-arrest chemical tests using your breath and/or blood. If you have been drinking, deciding whether to perform these tests is a […]