Although you’re not likely to see any jail time for driving with a suspended driver’s license, Massachusetts state law does see it as a crime and one that may carry severe punishments in certain cases. If you have recently been caught or are thinking about driving with a suspended driver’s license, understanding the consequences of doing so may be vital to your ultimate decision and outcome.
Conviction & Punishments
As stated above, you may not see any jail time for this particular crime, but that does not mean it’s not a real possibility. This is because, under Massachusetts state law, even your first offense driving with a suspended driver’s license can carry a conviction of a fine of no less than $500 and no more than $1,000. In more severe cases (often due to your criminal record), you may even see jail time added to that conviction, with the maximum sentence being ten days behind bars. In addition to a fine/jail time, you may also face having additional days added to your driver’s license suspension, with that common number being around 60 additional days.
Penalty for Multiple Offenses of Driving with a Suspended License
If this is your second time being convicted for this particular crime, the consequences can be much greater, with some seeing a mandatory jail time sentence of a minimum of 60 days to a maximum of 12 months. The sentencing could be much more severe if your driver’s suspension was due to a OUI charge. In this case, you may see both jail time and a fine of up to $10,000. However, this only applies for a suspension due to a conviction for OUI, not for refusing a breathalyzer.
Although the law is clear, you can still fight the charges. If you are charged with driving with a suspended license, it’s critical to contact an experienced criminal defense attorney. Call or text me today at (617) 295-7500.